Mark Twain

I love Mark Twain. I haven’t read any of his written work in years, but I keep coming across quotes that endear him to my aberrant little heart.

“I haven’t any right to criticize books, and I don’t do it except when I hate them. I often want to criticize Jane Austen, but her books madden me so that I can’t conceal my frenzy from the reader; and therefore I have to stop every time I begin. Every time I read Pride and Prejudice I want to dig her up and beat her over the skull with her own shin-bone.”

and my favorite:

“Persons attempting to find a motive in this narrative will be prosecuted; persons attempting to find a moral in it will be banished; persons attempting to find a plot in it will be shot.
BY ORDER OF THE AUTHOR
per G.G., CHIEF OF ORDNANCE”

― Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huck Finn

He’s even better than Yogi Berra.

About ralph

Still running on steam power
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

